UPDATED 20 SEPTEMBER 2021

Rother District Council

Report to - Council

Date - 20 September 2021

Report of the - Chief Executive

Subject - Political Groups – Review of Committee Seats

Recommendation: It be **RESOLVED:** That the revised political make-up of the Council be noted and the consequential appointment of Members on the Committees be agreed.

Introduction

1. Since the Council's last meeting there has been a change to the political makeup of the Council; this report advises Council on the consequential matters. It is also noted that the Labour Group Members have confirmed that they now wish to be known as the Labour and Co-operative Party.

Political Groups

- 2. On the 3 August 2021, Councillor Mrs Deirdre Earl-Williams gave formal notice of her wish to leave the Association of Independents (AoI) with immediate effect and not be affiliated with any political group serving on the Council. Any change in political make-up of the Council triggers a review of the allocation of committee seats in accordance with the proportional representation requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.
- 3. On the 14 September 2021, Councillor Paul Courtel gave formal notice that he had left the Labour Group and had joined the Association of Independents (AoI) with immediate effect.
- 4. The membership of the Political Groups on the Council is confirmed as follows:

Group	Seats
Conservative	14
Association of Independents	12
Liberal Democrats & Green	8
Labour and Co-operative	2
Non Group Member (Pebsham & St. Michaels)	1
Non Group Member (Collington)	1
Total Seats	38

- 5. Following the calculations of the allocation of committee seats, it is confirmed that the Conservative Group are entitled to one more seat overall on the Licensing and General Purposes Committee. The Group Leaders of the Alliance (Association of Independents, Liberal Democrat and Labour) have agreed a number of minor changes to their own allocations to accommodate this.
- 6. A replacement substitute Member for the AoI is also required for the Licensing and General Purposes Committee as substitutes must be from the same

UPDATED 20 SEPTEMBER 2021

political Group. The AoI have also indicated their intention to allocate one of their seats on the Overview and Scrutiny Committee to Councillor Mrs Earl-Williams – this will require a nem con vote (no Member voting against).

7. The proposed allocation and nominations to serve on each Committee are therefore confirmed as follows:

Audit and Standards Committee

Councillors J. Barnes, Mrs M.L. Barnes, P.C. Courtel, K.M. Harmer, A.K. Jeeawon, Mrs E.M. Kirby-Green, C.A. Madeley and R.B. Thomas

Licensing and General Purposes

Councillors R.K. Bird, G.S. Browne, S.J. *Coleman*, G.C. Curtis, K.M. Field, L. Hacking, K.M. Harmer, C.A. Madeley, A.S. Mier, R.B. Thomas and H.L. Timpe + one Conservative member TBC.

Substitutes: C.A. Bayliss, T.J.C. Byrne, P.J. Gray and Mrs E.M. Kirby-Green.

Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Councillors J. Barnes, J.J. Carroll, C.A. Clark, S.J. Coleman, Mrs V. Cook, Mrs D.C. Earl-Williams, S.J. Errington, P.J. Gray, C.A. Madeley, C.R. Maynard, M. Mooney and P.N. Osborne.

Substitutes: L.M. Langlands, G.F. Stevens and R.B. Thomas.

Planning Committee

Councillors Mrs M.L. Barnes, G.C. Curtis, S.J. Errington, A.E. Ganly, P.J. Gray, K.M. Harmer, J.M. Johnson, L.M. Langlands, C.A. Madeley, A.S. Mier, H.J. Norton, S.M. Prochak, G.F. Stevens, and J. Vine-Hall.

Substitutes: J. Barnes, H.L. Timpe and R.B. Thomas.

8. It is noted that as this allocation does strictly accord with political balance requirements, a nem con vote will be required, i.e. no Member voting against. It is also noted that the Labour Group are unable to have a substitute for the Overview and Scrutiny Committee as the only available Member is a Member of the Executive.

Malcolm Johnston Chief Executive